Board of Governors

The Board of Governors is the controlling body of Flight Safety Foundation. The Board comprises up to 35 individuals who have extensive experience in aviation and in other industries around the world. The Board sets the policies of the Foundation, determines its agenda and oversees its overall activities. FSF staff members report through the FSF president to the Board.


Capt. Conor Nolan
Director of Safety and Security
Aer Lingus

Immediate Past Chairman

John Hamilton

President and CEO

Dr. Hassan Shahidi
Flight Safety Foundation



General Counsel and Secretary

Kenneth P. Quinn
International Aviation Law


John R. Watret, Ph.D.
Chancellor, ERAU–Worldwide
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University


David Carbon
Vice President/General Manager
Amazon Prime Air

Warren Christie
Senior Vice president, Safety, Security, and Fleet Operations
JetBlue Airways Corp.

H.O. Demuren, D.Sc.
Former Director General
Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority

Andreas Flaig
Vice President, Corporate Safety Pilot
and Compliance Monitoring Manager
Lufthansa German Airlines

Mike J. Gamlin
Manager, Air Safety Investigations

Capt. Shai Gill
Vice President, Flight Operations
CAL Cargo Airlines

Peggy Gilligan
U.S. Federal Aviation Administration (retired)

Gretchen Haskins
Board Member, former CEO

Ho Ching-Sheng (Danny C. Ho)
Chief Executive Vice President, Safety and Security
EVA Airways Corp.

Craig Hoskins
Vice President, Safety, Security and Technical Affairs
Airbus Americas

Sasha Johnson
Vice President, Corporate Safety
United Airlines

Yannick Malinge
Senior Vice President and Chief Product Safety Officer


Capt. Houston Mills
Vice President Flight Operations and Safety
UPS Airlines

Holger Paulmann
SKY Airline S.A.

Michael J. Quiello
Vice President Safety, Security and Operational Excellence
Avelo Airlines

Cameron Ross
Head of Aviation Safety
BHP Billiton

Capt. Peter N. Stein

Tay Tiang Guan
Deputy Director General
Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore

Bobbi Wells
Vice President Safety, Environmental and Regulatory Compliance
American Airlines

Michael Whitaker
Global Head of Policy, Urban Air Mobility
Hyundai Motor Group

Ex Officio

Capt. Harry Nelson
International Advisory Committee

Capt. Pascal Kremer
European Advisory Committee

Tom Huff
Business Advisory Committee

Sean Cassidy and David Tait
Autonomous and Remotely Piloted Aviation Capabilities Advisory Committee